Why I Decided To Keep My Day Job

A lot of articles have been written in favor of working from home, encouraging Millennials, especially moms like me, to retire from the corporate rat race and explore the world of freelancing. Various websites have popped up over the recent years, offering remote work with handsome salaries which are up to 10 – 40 percent higher than its office – based counterparts. TheVAHub and 5StarVAS offer $800 monthly starting rates for their virtual assistants, MyOutdesk $700 -$800 for their appointment setters and $600 for general administrative assistants, companies like Versatel provide their telemarketers $3/hr with uncapped commissions, while online english tutors (51Talk, RareJob, Acadsoc) are given an average of P100 per hour, depending on experience.

I, for one, had already dipped my toes into the tempting world of home – based while on leave but had to quit to give birth to my adorable baby boy (biased mom here 🙂 ). I earned considerably better, almost doubling my monthly income compared to my supervisory day job. The end of my maternal leave is almost near, and I DECIDED TO CONTINUE WORKING FOR MY COMPANY. So what gives?

  1. Afraid of Being Losyang
  • If you are a kikay like me, one of my worst fears is being losyang (women who are dowdy, looking older than her actual age). When you are working from home, you can wake up 10 minutes before your shift and you still wouldn’t be late. You don’t have to shower, dress up and makeup. If you wake up, say, five minutes before, you probably wouldn’t even brush your teeth and you’re still good to go! (I know! Gross!). I love planning what to wear for the office and putting makeup on. I like to look good, not for anyone else’s sake but my own. It gives me enough confidence to go on about my day, and life.

 

  1. Boredom
  • Imagine working a regular 9 – hour shift without anyone to talk to, surrounded by four walls sans another person in sight. Or worse yet, if you’re a new mom like me, your infant would most likely cry shrilly in the wee hours of the morning in the room with you. Or if you have a toddler, and he still hasn’t slept before the start of your shift, he’d perhaps nag you to play with him while you are talking to your client. Of course, this argument would be partly moot if you have your own office or nanny, which I don’t, unfortunately. Don’t get me wrong, I love my kids fiercely and would do anything for them. But this kind of set – up just wouldn’t work. For me.

 

  1. Starting Over
  • The lure is almost irresistible, bigger pay, no office politics to avoid, traffic to contend with, resulting in more sleep and priceless time with loved ones. But I am afraid. I had to compete and stand out and be promoted twice to reach my position now. Giving it all up, for something uncertain is quite nerve-wracking. Office jobs offer a certain amount of stability that home-based just can’t, especially for beginners. What if the company I’m working for abruptly closes? What if my client just suddenly lets me go? In my case, I have mouths to feed and bills to pay like most of us do, and losing a job or having long vacancies in between jobs spell Catastrophe with a capital “C”.

 

 

Post Interview
On my way home after an interview with my new Senior Operations Manager.

 

 

So, unlike many Millenials who are joining the bandwagon of going home-based, I decided to do the exact opposite. I am not closing the door on anything. Probably, in the future, once I’m brave enough to embrace change, I might work from home. But for now, I would gladly endure the traffic and mingle with my officemates. And know that, at some point, I will be eventually where I needed to be in God’s perfect time. ♥

Leave a Reply

